Skip Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Our people

Director & Founder
Professor Hindy Najman

Director & Founder of the Centre | Oriel & Laing Professor of the Interpretation of Holy Scripture

Professor Anna Sapir Abulafia

Professor of the Study of the Abrahamic Religions

The Revd Professor John Barton

Oriel Emeritus Fellow (2014) | MA DPhil DLitt Oxf, Hon DrTheol Bonn, FBA

Mr Joel Bell

DPhil Candidate in Hebrew & Jewish Studies

Professor Markus Bockmuehl

Dean Ireland's Professor of the Exegesis of Holy Scripture | Professorial Fellow, Keble College

Professor George J. Brooke

Rylands Professor of Biblical Criticism and Exegesis Emeritus, Manchester | Visiting Professor, Chester

Ms Annie Calderbank

Graduate Teaching and Research Scholar in Theology & Religion

Ms Matilda (Tilly) Chapman

MSt Candidate in Theology

Professor John Day

Emeritus Professor of Old Testament Studies, Lady Margaret Hall

Professor David Downs

Clarendon-Laing Associate Professor in New Testament | Laing Fellow in Theology & Religion, Keble College

Professor Jaś Elsner

Humfry Payne Senior Research Fellow in Classical Archaeology & Art, Corpus Christi College and the Faculty of Classics

Revd Canon Professor Susan Gillingham

Emeritus Professor of the Hebrew Bible | Senior Research Fellow, Worcester College